« Austin City Limits Music Festival 2004 || current || Yosemite »
Can you spot the typo in this scam? Usually these emails contain some very tortured English (“Please to enter your password now”) that act as a tip off, but they are getting more believable all the time. The losers who wrote this one went to great lengths to trap people by using a mouseover on the URL that showed “http://www.wellsfargo.com” in the status bar instead of the random IP and PHP script that the link actually pointed to. I got three very similiar versions before the faux WF online banking front door was taken down. I shudder to think how many customers offered up their passwords over the last few days. If you work for WF, do you A) Send an email to all your customers telling them not to respond to fake emails or, B) Just ignore the problem and do your damndest to shut down the site?
In this case, they chose option B. It seems like A would have been more appropriate, but maybe that would just cause more confusion for customers who didn’t realize this was a scam.
Bell Canada Metal Pillars: Line the avenue